This website uses cookies to give you a better browsing experience.
By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change this and find out more by following this link

About us



The CardioPath programme is an international joint academic effort of higher education in cardiovascular pathophysiology and related therapeutics established in 2015.


The CardioPath programme stemmed from the agreement between 2 Universities and 1 Research Center:

In alliance with 1 Private Hospital of excellence:



Bruno Trimarco

Academic Council

Emanuele Barbato, Jozef Bartunek, Bernard De Bruyne, Maurizio Galderisi, Peter Juni, Bernhard Meier, Salvatore Panico, Christian Seiler, Eugenio Stabile, Bruno Trimarco, Guy Van Camp, Marc Vanderheyden, Stephan Windecker, William Wijns  


The CardioPath programme is aimed at providing a systematic understanding and knowledge of the pathophysiologic mechanisms underlying cardiac diseases, and an exposure to cutting-edge therapies in the cardiovascular field. The training programs integrate basic and clinical practice throughout 3 curricula.


  •  Hypertension, heart failure and arrhythmias
  •  Non-invasive diagnostic imaging of cardiac diseases
  •  Interventional cardiology

Campus sites


Prof. Bruno Trimarco (coordinator of PhD programme)

Prof. Emanuele Barbato and Dr. Eugenio Stabile (coordinators of the campus Naples/Mercogliano)

Dr. Marc Vanderheyden (coordinator of campus Aalst)

Prof. Stephan Windecker (coordinator of campus Bern)


Awarding bodies

University of Naples Federico II (Italy)

Teaching board

This includes 17 members of which 12 hold an academic position and 5 are principal investigators of our campus sites. The complete list can be seen here .


The CardioPath programme is supported by unrestricted funding made available by the University of Naples Federico II and by the Clinica Montevergine Mercogliano